Daily Archives: 2012/02/26

Avatar: The Last Airbender (the cartoon!)

The four elements:

• 气 – the “air” radical, used in characters related to gas
• 氵 – the “three drops of water” radical, used in characters related to liquid
• 土 – the “earth” radical, used in characters related to dirt, earth, mineral, etc.
• 火 – the “fire” radical, used in characters related to fire, heat, etc.

Read more: avatar.wikia.com
Under Creative Commons License: Attribution Share Alike


Favourite quotes from the Nickelodeon cartoon series:
Join the family: facebook.com/avatarthelastairbender

“Prince Zuko, pride is not the opposite of shame, but it’s source. True humility is the only antidote to shame.”
Iroh, former Great General of the Fire Nation, known as the Dragon of the West, Grand Master of the Order of the White Lotus.

Zuko: “I don’t want to make a life here.”
Uncle Iroh: “Life happens wherever you are whether you make it or not.”

“While it is always best to believe in oneself, a little help from others can be a great blessing.”
Iroh, former Great General of the Fire Nation, known as the Dragon of the West, Grand Master of the Order of the White Lotus.

Suki: Uh… It’s Suki.
Toph: Oh, you can go ahead and let me drown now….
-Suki saving Toph from drowning

Toph: Let the blind girl steer the giant air ship
Sokka: I was talking to Suki
Toph: That would make a lot more sense

Zuko: I know what you’re going to say. She’s my sister and I should try to get along with her.
Iroh: No. she’s crazy and she needs to go down.

“Someone’s missing from your group, someone very important…where’s Momo?”
Bumi, King of Omashu, Earthbending Master, “a mad genius”, himself claiming at one point to be “the most powerful earthbender you’ll ever see”.

“I hope you think like a mad genius!”
— Bumi to Aang in “The King of Omashu”

“Look! The lemur is earth bending!”
-Fire warriors (Momo behind the rock)

Toph: I’ll know if you’re lying.
Azula: I am a 400ft tall purple platypus-bear with pink horns and silver wings.

Aang: This is Appa, my flying bison.
Sokka: Right…! And this is Katara my flying sister.

Huu: *scratches belly* Pants are an illusion, and so is death.

Sokka: My first girlfriend turned into the moon.
Zuko: That’s rough buddy.

“Drink cactus juice. It’ll quench ya! Nothing’s quenchier. It’s the quenchiest!”
-Sokka, a 15-year-old warrior of the South Pole’s Southern Water Tribe, “the meat and sarcasm guy”, ambidextrous

“Why am I so bad at being good?!”
– Zuko, Crown Prince of the Fire Nation, son of Fire Lord Ozai and Princess Ursa

Warden: “Go wake up the captain!”
Fire Soldier: “You just threw the captain overboard.”
Warden: “Well, go wake up someone who I haven’t thrown overboard!”

Sokka: ‘So can I borrow Momo for a week?’
Aang: (shocked) “Why do you need Momo?”
Sokka: (shrugs) Mmnh

Aang: Wait, stop! I’m just very suspicious of giant glowing gemstones sitting on pedestals…
(Zuko touches it)
Aang: You HAD to pick up the glowing egg, didn’t you.
Zuko: At least I did something! If it were up to you, we would never have made it past the courtyard.
Aang: HELP!
Zuko: Who are you yelling to?

“I’m just saying, if I had weird powers, I’d keep my weirdness to myself.”
– Sokka

‎”The firelord’s the baddest man on the planet, and you’d better win or we’re all in for it!”
– Sokka

Sokka: “You just sneezed, and flew ten feet in the air!”
Aang: “Really? It felt higher than that.”

Mai: “You miscalculated. I love Zuko more than I fear you.”
Azula: “No, you miscalculated. You should have feared me more!”

“Forgiveness is the first step you have to take to begin healing”
– Aang

Toph: “Maybe the Moon Spirit just turned mean.”
Sokka: (angrily, defensively) “The Moon Spirit is a gentle, loving lady; she rules the sky with compassion … and lunar goodness.”

Sokka: Suki, you know about giant sea monsters. Make it go away!
Suki: Just because I live near the unagi doesn’t mean I’m an expert!
Sokka: (picks up Momo and holds up) Oh great and powerful sea serpent, please accept this humble and tasty offering. Thank you!
Katara: Sokka!

“Perfection and power are overrated. I think you were very wise to choose happiness and love.”
-Iroh to Aang

Sokka: I’m too young to die!!!!
Fisherman: I’m not, but I still don’t want to!

“Has the meaning of genius also changed within the past 100 years?”
Aang

Sokka: Maybe now we should call him…the Loser Lord!
Suki: Yeah, or the guys who don’t win!
Toph: Leave the nicknames to us, honey.

Guard: “Ma’am there’s a riot going on. I’m here to protect you.”
Mai: “I don’t need any protection.”
Prince Zuko: “Heh! Believe me, she doesn’t.”

“You will learn respect, and suffering will be your teacher!”
-Fire Lord Ozai

“Secret love cave… Let’s go”
-Sokka

“Katara! You’re a genius! A sweaty stinky genius!”
-Toph

“Aang this is Fificuddlypoof, Fificuddlypoof this is Aang.”
– Sokka

“The true mind can weather all the lies and illusions without being lost. The true heart can touch the poison of hatred without being harmed. Since beginning-less time, darkness thrives in the void, but always yields to purifying light.”
the Lion Turtle, Energy/spiritbender, the largest creature in the world of Avatar
.

